Is Oreo Halal? Here is What to Know Before Trying the Cookie

Is Oreo Halal? Here is What to Know Before Trying the Cookie

Oreo cookies taste so good that from kids to oldies, nobody can resist them. Oreo is not just the favorite cookie for Americans but is the top-selling cookie in the world. Despite being enjoyed by people in 100+ countries, Islam followers are still unsure if Oreo is halal or not.

For a Muslim consumer, verifying if a food product is Halal or Haram is of utmost importance. And Oreo is a global cookie brand available in several Muslim nations like Pakistan and Middle Eastern countries. So, many Muslims residing in different countries relish the delicious and inexpensive Oreo biscuits. At the same time, they cannot help asking ‘Is Oreo cookies halal?’.

If you have been searching for an answer to the same, look no further. In this article, we will provide the necessary information about Oreo so that you can make informed food choices.

What is Oreo?

Oreo is a type of sandwich cookie that came into existence in the year 1912. The classic cookie has two chocolaty wafers with a delectable creme filling. Both the fondant filling and the cocoa biscuits are equally tasty and the cookies are available in many varieties.

The crunchy exterior and the creamy layer that melts in the mouth make Oreos the perfect treat. Their unique texture of smoothness and crispiness contribute to their appeal.

The ideal way to have Oreo cookies is by dipping them in lukewarm milk. Children love to twist them apart to savor the filling first and then enjoy the cookies. Oreo biscuits also commonly feature in dessert recipes like ice creams, milkshakes, and cakes.

While the world is a fan of their crunchiness and rich taste, there is a never-ending debate on the topic: Is Oreo halal or not? As thousands of Muslims are eager to know this, let’s find out!

Is Oreo Halal? Here is What to Know Before Trying the Cookie

Oreo biscuit is halal or haram?

It is easy to determine if a product is halal based on the ingredients used in manufacturing it. For instance, alcohol is present in Oreo cookies and Islam does not support the consumption of alcohol.

Although they contain only a small percentage of alcohol, it is not written on the packaging. That’s because it is in a minute amount and it gets evaporated at the time of baking. There’s another thing that Oreo eaters must not forget: not all Oreo cookies have the exact same ingredients. These are some popular Oreo flavors that are not halal:

  • Oreo Crunchy Bites Dipped
  • Oreo Enrobed Milk & White
  • Oreo Strawberry Cheesecake
  • Oreo Cadbury Coated
  • Oreo Choco Brownie

Main ingredients used to make Oreo

Flour is the necessary ingredient to prepare the base of Oreo cookies. The amazing chocolaty flavor comes from cocoa powder. Sugar is added to give sweetness and it also helps in browning the mixture.

Canola, soybean, or palm oil provides moisture to the mixture and act as a blending agent. A little bit of salt is also required to enhance the flavor. Finally, vanilla extract makes the cookies tastier.

When it comes to preparing the filling, the manufacturers use sugar, vanilla flavoring, corn syrup, soy lecithin, and vegetable fats. Then there are various kinds of Oreo cookies and additional ingredients like food coloring, butter, milk powder, etc. are needed to make them stand out.

The proportions of the ingredients also vary based on the country where the cookies are baked. To have a clear idea about the ingredients, refer to the packaging.

Is Oreo Halal?

Does Oreo have gelatin?

Oreo cookies do not have pork gelain or beef gelatin. So, many people end up assuming that they are vegetarian. However, vegans and vegetarians should check carefully before savoring Oreo biscuits.

While they are devoid of gelatin, Oreo cookies still have other things sourced from animals. So, to ensure you are eating vegetarian products, contact the company for confirmation.

USA-produced Oreo cookies are not halal

Soraya Sheikh Al-Balad mailed to Mondelez International requesting the company to produce cookies as per Muslim dietary guidelines. The manufacturer responded to her demand by stating that it depends on the country where the cookies are made. He specified that Oreo cookies prepared in Canada and the US do not give importance to Halal standards.

He further added that although Oreos made in the US are not halal-certified, they are halal in Muslim countries. Similarly, Oreos produced in European countries are also not halal, and are thus, unsuitable for Muslims.

How to check if Oreo cookies are halal?

For a Muslim, there are several ways of verifying if a food is haram or halal. They should always check the list of ingredients of the Oreo cookies they buy. Additionally, they also need to look for the Halal-certified label at the backside of the packaging.

If the label is there, you can be certain that your Oreo is halal and it suits your dietary habits. On the contrary, if the Halal certificate is missing, it implies that not all ingredients present in it are halal. Another way of being sure that you aren’t hurting your religious sentiments is by reaching out to the specific branch of Mondelez International in your city.

The Bottom Line

So, after reading this article, you should have no confusion in answering ‘Is Oreo halal in USA?’ Now it is for you to decide if you still want to have Oreo or eat halal-certified cookies only. It’s a matter of personal choice if you prefer to eat foods that align with your dietary requirements and religious beliefs.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is Oreo halal?

To know if your Oreo biscuits are halal or haram, check the packaging properly. If there is a halal certificate, Muslims can have it without any sense of guilt.

2. Are Oreo cookies gluten-free?

Wheat is a key ingredient in the recipe for making Oreo cookies. So, these irresistible cookies are not gluten-free.

3. Are Oreo cookies suitable for vegans?

While vegans can consume some Oreo products, not all Oreo cookies are vegan-friendly. So, it is crucial to verify if the product is manufactured keeping in mind the dietary restrictions of vegans.