Is Haribo halal

Is Haribo Halal? Should You Eat These Chewy Candies?

Haribo gummy bears are so tasty that nobody can resist them. From the United Arab Emirates to the United States – children and adults all over the world love these candies. However, despite their popularity, Islam followers are skeptical to find out if Haribo is halal or not.

If that’s what you’ve been wondering, you have come to the right place. From the manufacturing process to the list of ingredients – we’ll tell you everything about your favorite Haribo candies.

What are Haribo gummy bears?

Haribo is a well-known German confectionary established in 1920 by Hans Riegel Sr. The word Haribo is an abbreviated version of the initials of the name of its founder.

The company started manufacturing candies for the first time in 1960 and since then, it has never looked back.

Now it has a range of tasty products like Haribo Rainbow Frogs, Haribo Sour Gummies, Haribo Fizzy Gummy Bears, and Haribo Twin Cherries.

Haribo Happy Cola Bottles Gummies and Haribo Starmix, Haribo Gold Bears, are few more names to excite you.

But first, is Haribo gummy bears halal? Stay tuned as this article will evaluate Haribo candies while responding to this big question.

Flavors of Haribo gummy bears

Haribo produces as many as 100 million candies per day and distributes them to at least 100 countries. They come in six colors and fruity flavors, namely:

  • Yellow Gummy Bears are lemon flavored
  • Orange color denotes that the Gold Bears are orange flavored
  • Green colored ones are apple flavored
  • Dark Red Gummy Bears will remind you of raspberries
  • The Colorless Haribo Gold Bears are pineapple flavored
  • Strawberry flavored Haribo candies have a light red hue

Note: In rare cases, Halal-certified candies are also produced by Haribo. You can confirm that by verifying the Halal certification behind the packet.

Haribo gummy bears ingredients

The official website of the company mentions the main ingredients that give Haribo gummy bears their amazing taste. These are the things found in your gummy bears:


The main sweetener in Gummy Bears is sugar. Sugar is plant-based and hence, halal. A single serving of Haribo candies contains 13 pieces. The amount of sugar in each piece of the Gummy Bears is 14 grams.

So, Haribo candies are safe to consume but not for people suffering from diabetes. According to the American Heart Association, an individual should not have excess sugar. For men, the daily intake of sugar should be less than 36 grams. For women, 25 grams is the daily limit of sugar consumption.

Glucose syrup

For sweet treats, glucose syrup is the go-to sweetener used by manufacturers around the globe. The glucose syrup makes Haribo Gummy Bears chewy, soft, and nice. It is halal as it is plant-based, gotten from wheat, rice, cassava, potatoes, and barley.

If it is plant-based, it is halal.


Gelatin is essential to give Haribo Gold Bears and Gummy Bears their chewy texture. Many vegetarians do not know that gelatin is a protein found in the bones, tendons, and skin of animals.

Haribo gummy bears produced in many countries have pork gelatin, thus making haram for Islam believers. Haribo Gold Bears made in Turkey have beef gelatin which is as per Muslim dietary restrictions. So, Muslims who do not have halal products should not eat Haribo Gummy Bears produced in Spain, Austria, and Germany.

Is Haribo halal

Citric acid

The tartness of Haribo candies comes from citric acid. Citric acid is an acid occurring naturally in lemon and other citrus fruits. So, it is understandable that this ingredient is halal.

Yellow and white beeswax

When Haribo candies are almost ready, the final step is to apply a thin coating of yellow and white beeswax. This offers the gummy bears a pretty shine and they also don’t stick together when kept in a bag.

Beeswax is the wax we get from bees and is, therefore, halal.

Artificial and natural flavors

The palatable fruit flavors that enrich Haribo Gold Bears are apple, orange, raspberry, pineapple, and lemon. All the artificial and natural flavors present in Haribo candies are halal.

Carnauba wax

A glazing agent, Carnauba wax is similar to beeswax. It is responsible for giving Haribo gummy bears their shiny look. As the carnauba palm is the primary source of carnauba wax, it is halal.

Artificial colors

All the color additives used by Haribo are edible and as per the guidelines of the Food and Drug Administration. Yellow 5, Blue 1, and Red 40 are used to give varied colors to the Haribo candies. So, none of these artificial colors is haram, but all are halal.

It goes beyond saying that the industry of food products is varied and rich. Haribo is a brand that has achieved many milestones in the confectionery industry.

The secret behind their success is not just the taste of their products. From the use of corn syrup to the addition of beeswax, they experiment with a range of ingredients.

Is Haribo made in Turkey halal?

You may think that the Haribo candies you relish now and then are the same everywhere, but they aren’t. The difference lies in the selection of ingredients used to prepare the gummy bears.

While some products use pork gelatin, others rely on beef gelatin to make these delectable candies. Gummy bears that are produced in countries such as France contain gelatin sourced from pork. So, if you don’t eat non-halal dishes, you cannot have Haribo candies in France.

But are Haribo candies made in Turkey halal or not? Haribo gummy bears made in Turkey have gelatin derived from halal beef. The manufacturers slaughter the animals according to the Islamic laws prevalent in Muslim countries.

This contrast highlights the significance of identifying the source of gelatin used in the production of a specific food. It also explains why transparent labeling is crucial so that Muslim consumers can read the labels. Before consuming any candy, they can read the label to find out if the recipe adheres to halal guidelines.

Another interesting thing that consumers have observed is that the quality also differs because of the distinct manufacturing process. Haribo candies and other halal-certified candies manufactured in Turkey taste better than gummies in other places.

The three factors that impact the taste are the process of preparation, obedience to the halal diet, and the ingredients used. The presence of bovine gelatin is a testament to the fact that the gummy bears are 100% halal. Additionally, they are enriched with fruit juice and other ingredients to add some flavor.

You can also tell the difference between a Turkey-made Haribo candy and Haribo gummy candies produced in other regions if you are mindful of the texture. Haribo gummy bears manufactured in Turkey are less sweet, softer, and have a fruity flavor. So, they promise a unique culinary experience.

Gummies you eat in several other countries can be chewier and they use other types of gelatin.

Is Haribo halal

Where can you purchase Haribo gummy bears?

Haribo products are the best treats and therefore, you won’t have to struggle to find them. From the traditional markets of Muslim-majority nations to the leading malls in the United States – they are everywhere.

As Turkey is primarily a Muslim country, Muslims don’t hesitate to enjoy Turkish Haribo candies. Moreover, the packaging states it clearly that they are ‘halal’, thus making them edible for any Muslim. So, anyone who follows Islamic dietary rules can indulge in these yummy treats without offending their religious heads.

There are various kinds of Haribo candies within the gummies range like Haribo Tangfastics Halal. The impressive choice of flavors, a plethora of vegetarian options, and the mouth-watering taste make them a must-try.

Such is their variety that they cater to all kinds of taste buds. Hence, you won’t struggle to find Haribo candies within the parameters of Islamic dietary laws.

The importance of the Halal certificate in Haribo candies

Halal food abides by the dietary guidelines obeyed by the Islamic population. People who eat halal food always stay away from ‘haram’ food such as alcohol or pork. As these are forbidden according to the Quran, they look for halal-certified foods and beverages.

Therefore, the Hahal certificate present on the backside of the packaging of Haribo candies is not just symbolic. It is of immense significance for Muslim buyers who carefully check this label before purchasing. It is important for them to know if the Haribo candies comply with their dietary rules.

The European Halal Certification Institute issues the halal certificate to prove the authenticity of a product. The label indicates that the production line and the ingredients have been meticulously examined.

Therefore, if you see the Halal certificate, what does it imply? It means that the gelatin in the gummy bear is obtained from an animal that has been slaughtered keeping in mind Islamic principles. Also, the Islamic religious heads do not permit the consumption of pig, So, the gelatin won’t be pig-based in Halal-certified candies.

Hence, you will have the surety that your Haribo candy meets the necessary Halal standards. The logo of Halal certification shows that the gummy bears are not haram. In that case, Islam followers can consume this.

Is Haribo halal?

What makes a product halal depends on the ingredients it contains. We have already explained that the ingredients found in Haribo gummy bears vary from one country to another. Hence, ‘Is haribo gold bears halal?’, can either be yes or no.

If you purchase Haribo gold bears produced in a Muslim country, it has a higher chance of being halal. Over the years, they have displayed their commitment to multiple dietary needs.

The best way to find that out is by searching for the halal certificate in the product’s packaging. If the certificate is there, you can have as many of those candies as you want without compromising your religion.

The Bottom Line

So, the answer to ‘Is Haribo halal in USA?’ hinges on many factors like the country of origin and the gelatin source. Turkish-produced Haribo candies, for instance, have gelatin sourced from halal beef. As they are devoid of pork byproducts, they are certified halal candies. On the contrary, Haribo products made in the UK, Austria, Spain, Germany, France, etc, are not halal.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Can Muslims eat Haribo?

If as a Muslim you only eat halal products, stick to Haribo candies made in Turkey. Haribo Gold Bears produced in Turkey are all halal certified as the majority of Turkey’s population comprises Muslims. So, if you’re asking ‘Is Haribo halal?’, you should always check if your chosen gummy brand uses halal gelatin.

2. Is Haribo halal in Singapore?

While some Haribo Gummy Bears are halal certified, others are not. So, when you buy Haribo candies in Singapore or any other country, just check the packaging.