For vegans, being a sweet tooth can be difficult.
Finding vegan candy can be tough.
For one, gelatin is a common ingredient in most of your favorite candy. It gives that chewy, shiny quality to most gummy bears you see, for example.
However, did you know that gelatin is an animal product? Yes, it’s actually made from pigskin, cow hyde, and even some animal bones. While that certainly doesn’t sound appetizing, it has become a main staple of most candies that you know and love.
With chocolate too, most candy bars contain milk. So when vegans want chocolate, they have to stick to the dark stuff, which often times can still have traces of animal products.
Luckily, vegan candy is out there! There’s some awesome gummy and chocolate candy that are free of animal products.
Here is a list of the best vegan candies that I know of:
Sour Patch Kids & Sour Patch Watermelon
While eating “kids” doesn’t sound like it would be vegan, Sour Patch’s products all do not contain gelatin, which makes them free from animal products and vegan-friendly!
Already one of the best candies out there, there shouldn’t be any excuses left for someone not to have tried these!
For our chocolate lovers, vegan candy bars can be hard to find. Luckily there are plenty of dark chocolate candies out there that do not contain animal products; the best (in my opinion) being Unreal Candy.
They have dark chocolate peanut butter cups, dark chocolate coconut peanut butter cups, and dark chocolate almond butter cups all of which are made with no GMOs and fair trade products. Each dark chocolate product they have is 100% vegan. but they don’t yet have official vegan certification. Apparently there’s “the potential for cross-contamination with dairy products on our production machinery” according to their website – just something to keep in mind.
If you are into licorice, Panda is definitely the choice for you. Available in both raspberry and original (black) flavors, the ingredients are simple and of course vegan. Non-GMO, no gelatin, no preservatives, no artificial flavors or colors – this candy is certainly a guilt-free one!
Yes, I know that fish is not vegan – I believe they call those pescatarians. That being said, Swedish Fish is an all time classic candy and has been doing it without gelatin since the 1950s. They recently gave their branding a new look, so maybe it’s time you tried this delicious vegan treat again!
* Any other good vegan candy out there? Leave them in the comments, so I can try them!